Beer Review: Delirium Tremens

I have seen this beer for years. Always tempting me from the micro-brew isle of any beer distributor store. Its bottle painted like a ceramic beer stein from europe with pink elephants on it. This beer always reminded me of one of my favorite Disney moves, Dumbo. A little excerpt from wikipedia “Delirium tremens is Latin for “trembling madness”, commonly nicknamed “the DTs”, indicating a violent sickness induced by withdrawal after alcohol abuse. Although it is commonly thought that sufferers hallucinate pink elephants, which may explain its use on the beer’s label”

One night I stepped into my local bar here in AH-AH-AH-ASTORIA (set to the tune of Notorious BIG) called The Brewhouse (review coming soon). I checked the menu and since I still have a self imposed ban on big manufactured beer, I saw Delirium taunting me again. This time I gave into the peer pressure, from the beer taunting me, and ordered myself one. Well, I am so glad I did. The smell is light, fruity and very inviting. It has an easy going taste with light carbonation bubbles, almost similar to champagne. It pours the perfect color and the after taste makes you want more. Repeat buy for sure!

ABV – 8.5%
Color – 9
Smell – 9
Taste – 9
Overall – 9
Price – $12 for 22oz

3 Responses

  1. […] One night I stepped into my local bar here in AH-AH-AH-ASTORIA (set to the tune of Notorious BIG) called The Brewhouse ( review coming soon). I checked the menu and since I still have a self imposed ban on big manufactured beer , … Originally posted here: Beer Review: Delirium Tremens « The Pint Glass […]

  2. AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH. I am going to try and visit this brewery in Belgium when I go there and I was going to write the review. It’s in Melle just outside Ghent/Gent.

    I’ll write an addendum review. I figure it has to be good when it was voted the best beer in the world a couple years ago.

    I just saw the bottle in a store up here for 16 bucks so I think your getting a deal.

  3. […] brought 3 philosophers and Duvel a present for all of us. They, knowing me, did the same and bought Delirium Tremens, Innis & Gunns and Chimay. AKA we didn’t have one beer under 7% […]

Leave a Reply

