North Carolina: A Beer Tour – Highland Brewing Black Mocha Stout

The second installment of our NC beer tour is Highland Brewing’s Black Mocha Stout. And this is as dark as your heel after walking down Tobacco Road.

This is gold. Black gold.

High in roasted malt and sublte choclate flavors, this Asheville-brewed stout also boasts a hoppiness to it’s clean finish. As much as I would like to claim I knew what Chinook and Mt. Hood hops were before this beer, I can’t. But I will tell you that the hop finish makes this the most complex stout I’ve had. It’s heavy enough to be a savored beer, but you could firmly entrench yourself with this for a meal and an evening. This is pretty rare compared to the previous stouts I’ve enjoyed. I’m glad I found this

BV – 5.3%
Look/Color – 10
Smell – 8.0
Taste – 7.0
Overall – 7.7
Price – $8.99 for a  6 pack

Leave a comment